NCC councilors BNP wins 12, AL 11

Pub: Thursday, December 22, 2016 8:34 PM   |   Upd: Thursday, December 22, 2016 8:34 PM

Sheersha Khobor Dot Com

Bangladesh Nationalist Party-backed candidates secured more councilor posts than its archrival ruling Awami League-backed candidates while BNP’s mayoral candidate lost to AL’s contestant to the Narayanganj City Corporation elections, held on Thursday.
Out of 27 posts of ward councilor in the corporation, BNP-backed councilor candidates won 12 wards, while AL-backed candidates 11 wards, Jatiya Party-backed candidates three wards and Socialist Party of Bangladesh-backed candidate won a lone ward, according to unofficial results.
The unofficial results were announced by the NCC Polls returning officer, Nuruzzaman Talukder, at the camp control room, at Narayanganj Club, in the city.
According to informal results as declared by the returning office, Omar Faruk of AL won ward-1, Iqbal Hossain of BNP ward-2, Shahajalal Badal of AL ward-3, Ariful Haque Hasan of AL ward-4, Golam M Sadril of BNP ward-5, Matiur Rahman of AL ward-6, Ali Hossain Alal of AL ward-7, Ruhul Alam of AL ward-8, M Israfil of BNP ward-9, Eftekhar Alam of AL ward-10, Zamsher Alam of BNP ward-11, Shawkat Hasem of BNP ward-12, Maksudul Alam Khandakar Khorshed of BNP ward-13, Safiuddin Pradhan of JP ward-14, Asit Barun Biswas of SPB ward-15, Nazmul Alam Sajal of AL ward-16, Abdul Karim of AL ward-17, Kabir Hossain of AL ward-18, Faysal M Sagar of AL ward-19, Golam Nabi Murad of BNP ward-20, Hanan Sarkar of BNP ward-21, Sultan Ahmad of BNP ward-21, Dulal Pradhan of JP ward-23, Afzal Hossain of JP ward-24, Enayat Hossain of BNP ward-25, Samsuzzoha of BNP ward-26 and Kamaruzzaman Babul of BNP won ward-27, respectively.
The officials said a total of 156 councilor candidates vied for 27 posts of councilor in the polls.


Sheersha Khobor / A A

The news has read 1546 times

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :