Hasina swears in as Bangladesh PM for third term

Pub: Monday, January 7, 2019 10:05 AM   |   Upd: Monday, January 7, 2019 10:05 AM

Sheersha Khobor Dot Com

Awami League president Sheikh Hasina sworn in as Bangladesh’s prime minister for the third consecutive term on Monday after a landslide victory of her party in December 30 parliamentary elections.

President M Abdul Hamid administered the oath of Hasina at 3:41 pm at Bangabhaban in presence newly-appointed ministers and host of dignitaries among others.

Hasina earlier on Sunday announced her new cabinet, dropping most of the senior members from her previous terms between 2014 and 2018,

Hasina’s ruling Awami League its allies won a total of 288 seats out of 300 in December 30 polls, according to the Election Commission.

After administering oath of the prime minister, the president also administered oath of 24 minister, 19 state minister and three deputy ministers.

The ministers are AKM Mozammel Huq for liberation war affairs ministry, Obaidul Quader for road transport and bridges ministry, Mohammad Abdur Razzaque for agriculture ministry, Asaduzzman Khan for home ministry, Mohammad Hasan Mahmud for information ministry, Anisul Huq for law, justice and parliamentary affairs ministry, AHM Mustafa Kamal for finance ministry, Md Tajul Islam for LGRD and cooperatives ministry, Dipu Moni for education ministry, AK Abdul Momen for foreign ministry, MA Mannan for planning ministry, Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun for industries ministry, Golam Dastagir Gazi for textile and jute ministry, Zahid Maleque for health and family welfare ministry, Sadhan Chandra Majumder for food ministry, Tipu Munshi for commerce ministry, Nuruzzman Ahmed for social welfare ministry, SM Rezaul Karim for housing and public works ministry, Shahab Uddin for environment, forest and climate change ministry, Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing for Chittagong Hill Tracts affairs ministry, Saifuzzman Chowdhury for land ministry, Md Nurul Islam Sujan for railways ministry, Yafesh Osman for science and technology ministry, and Mustafa Zabbar for post, telecommunication and ICT ministry.

The state ministers are Kamal Ahmed Majumder for industries ministry, Imran Ahmed for expatriate welfare and overseas employment ministry, Zahid Ahsan Russell for youth and sports ministry, Nasrul Hamid for power, energy and mineral resources ministry, Md Ashraf Ali Khan Khasru for fisheries and livestock ministry, Monnujan Sufian for labour and employment ministry, Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury for shipping ministry, Md Zakir Hossain for primary and mass education ministry, Md Shahriar Alam for foreign ministry, Zunaid Ahmed Palak for information and communication technology division, Farhad Hossain for public administration ministry, Swapan Bhattachaiya for LGRD ministry, Zahid Faruque for water resources ministry, Md Murad Hasan for health and family welfare ministry, Sharif Ahmed for social welfare ministry, KM Khalid for cultural affairs ministry, Md Enamur Rahman for disaster management and relief ministry, Md Mahbub Ali for civil aviation and tourism ministry and Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah for religious affairs ministry.

The  deputy ministers are Habibun Nahar for environment, forest and climate change ministry, AKM Enamul Haque Shamim for water resources ministry and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury for education ministry.


Sheersha Khobor / A A

The news has read 1116 times

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com