Five-star Fizz restricts India to 314-9

Pub: Tuesday, July 2, 2019 1:52 PM   |   Upd: Tuesday, July 2, 2019 1:52 PM

Sheersha Khobor Dot Com

Mustafizur Rahman claimed 5-59 as Bangladesh bowlers fought back hard to restrict India 314-9 in their must-win World Cup match in Birmingham on Tuesday.
India threatened to take the game beyond Bangladesh’s reach after Rohith Sharma capitalised on a dropped catch of Tamim Iqbal to slam his fourth century of the tournament.
But Bangladesh clawed their way back after Soumya Sarkar dismissed Sharma for 104 off 94 balls and Rubel Hossain removed Lokesh Rahul, Sharma’s partner in 180-run opening stand, for 77.
Mustafizur then took two wickets in one over to turn the corner as India could add 63 runs in the last 10 overs.
Mustafiz had Virat Kohli caught by Rubel at square leg for 26 in the second ball of his sixth over before he handed Hardik Pandya a duck three balls later.
Sakib al Hasan slowed down India’s run rate by removing dangerous looking Rishabh Pant, who made 48 off 41 balls.
India had still the chance to pull the trigger with Dinesh Karthik and MS Dhoni at the crease.
Mustafiz forced Karthik to give a catch Mosaddek Hossain for eight before he took two wickets in his final over to complete his fourth five-wicket haul in career.
Asked to bowl first after India captain Kohli, Bangladesh were on the backfoot from the start once skipper Mashrafee bin Murtaza conceded 10 runs in his first over.
Mashrafee changed the end after just one over to give away 26 runs in his next four overs and all other Bangladeshi bowlers were equally generous, expect Sakib.
Sakib gave 22 runs in his six overs but Bangladesh could not maintain the pressure from the other end to stare a total close to 400 runs.
Things could have been different if Tamim could hold the catch of Sharma at mid-wicket off Mustafiz when he was batting on just nine.
Sharma made Bangladesh pay for the catch racing to his third consecutive century against the Tigers in an ICC event with a single off Sakib.
Bangladesh made two changes from 62-run win against Afghanistan, bringing in Sabbir Rahman and Rubel respectively for injured Mahmudullah and Mehedi Hasan.
India also brought an extra pacer as Bhuvneshwar Kumar replaced Kuldeep Yadav while Dinesh Karthik came for Kedar Jadav.


Sheersha Khobor / A A

The news has read 1074 times

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :