Deprived BCL leaders censure Hanif’s remarks

Pub: Wednesday, May 15, 2019 7:16 PM   |   Upd: Wednesday, May 15, 2019 7:16 PM

Sheersha Khobor Dot Com

Leaders of Awami League-backed Bangladesh Chhatra League who failed to make room or did not get expected posts in newly announced central committee on Wednesday censured the remarks of Awami League acting general secretary Mahbub-Ul-Alam Hanif.
Hanif at a programme at the Awami League president’s office in Dhanmondi on Tuesday termed the clash between the two factions of Chhatra League a ‘trifle’ matter. On Monday, at least 15 leaders and activists of Chhatra League were injured in a factional clash following announcement of its 301-member full-fledged central committee.
The deprived faction formed a human chain at Aparajeya Bangla at Dhaka University protesting the attack and demanding reconstitution the committee dropping the ‘non-eligible’ ones.
Addressing the human chain, Nipo Tonne, deputy cultural affairs secretary of the central committee, asked Hanif what extent of assault on activists would require to make him convinced that it was not a trifle matter.
Tonne also criticised the probe body formed by Chhatra League central committee to investigate into the clash said that the probe body member yet to contact with the victims and it was nothing but ‘farce’.
Dhaka University Central Student Unions’ common room and cafeteria secretary and Ruqayyah Hall unit president BM Lipi Akhter alleged that many leaders with criminal records also non-students, drug abusers, drug dealers, married people and disputed individuals made their place in the committee but there was no space for many devoted leaders.
Earlier on Tuesday the deprived faction issued a 48-hour ultimatum to reconstitute the committee dropping the ‘non-eligible’ ones.
They also threatened to go on hunger strike and quit their positions in Chhatra League committee if actions were not taken within the deadline.
Prime minister and Awami League president Sheikh Hasina approved the central committee that features 61 vice-presidents, 11 joint secretaries, 11 organising secretaries and other secretaries, deputy secretaries and assistant secretaries on Monday afternoon.
The full-fledged committee came eleven months after Rezwanul Haque Chowdhury Shovon and Golam Rabbani were made president and general secretary respectively in the 29th council session of the organisation.


Sheersha Khobor / A A

The news has read 1154 times

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :